mercoledì 24 agosto 2011

Pasquale Pistorio wins IEEE Noyce Medal

8/19/2011 5:19 PM EDT

SAN FRANCISCO—Pasquale Pistorio, former president and CEO of STMicroelectronics NV, has been named the winner of the 2011 IEEE Robert N. Noyce Medal.

They Noyce Medal, among the most prestigious awards in microelectronics, is awarded for "exceptional contributions to the microelectronics industry."

Pistorio, who remains honorary chairman of ST, is set to receive the medal at the IEEE Honors Ceremony here Saturday (Aug. 20). The medal is sponsored by the Intel Foundation.

In 1980, Pistorio left his position as general manager of Motorola Corp.'s international semiconductor division to become CEO of the only remaining microelectronics company in his native Italy, SGS Group.

Pistorio led the merger of SGS Group with France’s Thomson Semiconducteurs to form what is now ST (originally known as SGS-Thomson Microelectronics). With Pistorio as president and CEO, the combined company rose from less than $1 billion in sales in 1987 to over $9 billion in sales at the time of his retirement from day-to-day operations in 2005.

Pistorio, who also received the EE Times ACE Lifetime Achievement Award in 2010, has throughout his career championed good corporate citizenship and environmental responsibility.

Past winners of the IEEE Robert N. Noyce Medal include Morris Chang of TSMC, Craig Barrett of Intel, Wilfred Corrigan of LSI Logic, Aart de Geus of Synopsys and James Morgan of Applied Materials, among others.

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento

Nota. Solo i membri di questo blog possono postare un commento.